My attempt at creating a viral game.

Seeing the news about Wordle being purchased by the New York City Times for more than $1 million made me realize that you don't always need large corporations, large teams and realistic graphics to create a viral game. It was inspiring. I also wanted to make a simple casual game. So I sat down and started to think about what I could make with my limited skill set.

Tech Stack :

I've recently started learning React Js. I had only gone over the fundamentals, but I had yet to apply or use it in any project. So I decided that using React js to create the game would be a good idea because it would solidify my knowledge.

Concept:

I enjoy math but am terrible at quick calculations, so why not create a game to help me improve my quick calculations? It was the ideal balance of entertainment and education. Named the game Exprn after 'Mathematical Expression'.

Game Logic :

“Create a mathematical expression to match the generated number.” But the catch is you can't use a double digit number. You have 9 digits ‘1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9’ and four mathematical operators ‘+ , - ,* , / ' to create an expression that will equal the given number. As you progress through the game, it will generate larger numbers. Another catch is that you cannot erase or reset your move, so you must carefully place each number and operator.

Build Phase :

Took me about 5-6 hours to build it. The logic of the game was fairly simple, so creating it was not difficult. However, I spent several hours figuring out how to restrict the player to using single digits. It was my first time using React Js in a project, so it took longer than I expected.

Creating a game is more enjoyable than creating a traditional website. It makes you think outside the box.I learned a lot about the fundamentals of React Js. Make a game if you are a beginner or in a similar situation. It will help you tremendously. Exprn may not go viral, but I had a good time making it, which is the most important part.

Give it a try and let me know your best score.

Play